• Socialize
  • Posts
  • Two Must-Have Items for My Tutorials

Two Must-Have Items for My Tutorials

A great video is a mix of several things.

A great video is a mix of several things. First of all, you want to unleash your creativity. If it doesn’t come from the heart, it won’t make as big of an impact as a video that means a lot to you. Secondly, you want to make sure you’re in a quiet place where the background noise doesn’t overwhelm what you’re trying to capture on camera (unless you want background noise as an element of the story). Third, and the purpose of this article, is to use the right equipment. Notice, I did not say the “best” or “most expensive” as it’s more about using what you have than needing to break the bank. Here’s a simple video and written list of what I use to make my videos on TikTok, Instagram, and elsewhere.

  1. Use a microphone instead of your phone’s microphone. I prefer a wired microphone over a wireless so I don’t have to worry about bluetooth breaking up, but it will do in a pinch.

  2. I also strongly recommend getting and using a tripod. You won’t need to use it for EVERY video, but, for the ones it improves, you’ll be glad you had it. My adjustable tripod can capture all sorts of angles and heights, so I always can get the best shot. If you have a standard tripod, you can turn it into a phone-capable one by purchasing a selfie stick and detatching the grip from the stand.

  3. The tripod I bought also comes with a detachable ring light, which can be very handy for certain shots.

There are, of course, plenty of other accessories you can buy, but they’re nice-to-haves, not need to haves. But I always feel like I can create my best possible video with my wired mic and tripod. What tools do you swear by? If you film a video featuring your tools of the trade, tag me in the comments.